Can't find Bench folder on my server

i will like to use this moment to thank all developer of erpnext, kudos to you guys well done job.
please i’m new to this system, and also not too good in using linux, but i try to install the the system, currently running on production mode with ubuntu linux, i want to switch to developer mode but can’t find the bench folder.

please help.

First, welcome to the community.

From home it should work something like this:
ls ← do this at each step to show the contents of the directory you’re in
"frappe" "akajiaku" ← these are directories in home, “frappe” and the “other user(s) on the system”
cd frappe ← change directory to the user frappe, which is automatically created in a production install
cd frappe-bench ← unless you’ve named your bench something during a manual install (if you entered the bench init <name> command, otherwise it’s named frappe-bench)
cd sites
ls ← shows the site(s) you have installed in this instance
cd my-new-site ← the site you created when you entered the the bench new-site my-new-site command
sudo nano site_config.json ← opens the site config which will look like this:

{
 "db_name": "whole1lotta2hash", 
 "db_password": "garbled3mess", 
 "developer_mode": 1, 
 "encryption_key": "something4long5and6crazy7looking=!", 
 "limits": {
  "space_usage": {
   "backup_size": 3.0, 
   "database_size": 38.83, 
   "files_size": 2.0, 
   "total": 43.83
  }
 }
}

This site_config.json is from a docker install, you shouldn’t need to change the values below developer_mode until you’re more familiar with bench setups (like doing them manually because you’re build some kind of unique installation; and you may never have to change them in your frappe career).