Creating Reports -- Docs need an update?

I’ve been browsing this forum for information about creating reports, and it looks like a lot of it might be outdated now (not all though). Some posts contain links to dead pages now.

I am a developer, but I am not really interested in fudging with python code. The main reason is that it seems unnecessary as a report interface should be a standard portion of the system. ERPNext has a so-called “report builder,” but it is not able to work with multiple tables, and that is a huge deficit.

While searching for a workable solution to our bookkeeping needs here, among the dozen or so ERP’s I tested out, I ran across Phreebooks. Phreebooks is double-entry, but it hides all of this from the user, which I do not care for. However, it DID have a very nice and elegant report tool (devs here might want to look at it). You can pick the tables and fields you want to create a report, and you can even perform calculations of some types right within the field selections, which is convenient and powerful. I think it is not hard to understand, and I found myself creating reports within a short time, once I got the hang of it. The generated reports (like the rest of that product) are not that pleasing to look at, but they do the trick, providing the requested data in a pretty useful format.

What I don’t like in ERPNext is that you are limited to one table, and it is not possible to create the selection fields that are available in the query and script reports, as well as a few other features (check boxes, menus, etc).

Mucking around for hours on each individual report is rather repititious and tedious. A generalized report building feature would be a wonderful addition to this growingly useful system you have created.