Erpnext for agriculture

Dear all,

After this post

and trying frappe on digital cloud, I’d like to start fine tuning erpnext for agricultural purpose. I’m not an expert developer in Python by any means, but I’d like to try it out.

What would you suggest is the best way to start?

Suggest changes on the erpnext github itself or make a fork of erpnext and make the changes from there?

Sorry if my questions is trivial, I just want make sure I start on the right foot.

Best,

François

1 Like

Hi François,

Welcome to the forum :smile:

You need not fork erpnext. You can extend erpnext using apps based on frappe framework. Here’s the how to: https://frappe.github.io/frappe

Once you have a look at it, you should be able to ask more specific questions.

Thanks,
Anand Doshi.

Hi Anand,
The idea is to fine tune ERPNext for agricultural purposes. So take some modules / Doctype and add some more.
Also I can do changes for myself, but I will find it more useful if we can develop an open version of erpnext for agriculture, where more than myself can contribute to it.

I already have a lots of specific questions and have of course already read the frappe.io/docs. I just want to start it right with question of rights, license, etc.

best

François,

How are you doing with implementing ERPNext for agriculture?

I just began toying with ERPNext for exactly that same purpose. I really like it.

Let me know how I can collaborate to the project.

Also, I am no expert in programming, but recently have learned some Python scripting and interacted with GnuCASH features for customizing the software, I would really like to be able to obtain an ERP software for ag.

Regards,

TropicalR

1 Like

Hi @Tropicalrambler,
Thanks so much for reaching out.

I did start some time back and I even tried to hire someone with upwork. but it didn’t work out at the end due to lack of skills and communication from the freelancer. I had to end the contract.