ERPNext in an internal server seems to require internet connection to the outside

Hello!

i successfully installed latest version of ERPNext on my Ubuntu laptop yesterday.

today, i was trying to learn how to use it with my colleague. at the time we were doing this, we did not have wifi turned on.

with no wifi, i was able to login to my site (localhost:8000), but couldnt switch to “desk”. i get a “you do not have an internet connection” message pop up, and i can only see the “E” logo, and not my desktop icons. this is also true if i login as Administrator.

i was surprised by this. why does erpnext on an internal server require an internet connection to the outside to work properly??

newbie here so please excuse this newbie-ish question. :slight_smile:

thank you for helping!

2 Likes

smells a bit as if frappe was installed but the ERPNext installation was not quite there. How did you do the installation?

thanks for the quick reply.
it seems i need to add “developer_mode” : true to common_site_config.json as suggested in Standalone Installation - Running without Internet.

when i did that, i was able to get to the “desk”.

i wonder if someone could explain why i have to do that?

thanks!

me too.

can you tell why you need to cut off the internet connection?

i just didnt have it turned on at that time. didnt think i needed internet connection.

to answer your question re: how i installed ERPNext, i just followed the instructions in:

bench get-app erpnext GitHub - frappe/erpnext: Free and Open Source Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP)

bench --site site1.local install-app erpnext

actually I tried this with one of my local test instances (running inside Linux Containers) …

and it seems I can use it without any problem when internet is not available (indicated by the 2 arrows on the upper right).

I am guessing … can it be you are running on the develop branch?