ERPNext in lumber re-sales -- What paradigm to follow?

Hi,

I am evaluating ERPNext for a new ERP implementation in a lumber drying business. Note that, though I am a very experienced developer/architect, I have no ERPNext experience and limited experience in web-based development. If this is the right approach, I am likely to hire some assistance.

Without going into too much detail, lumber is purchased in stacked “bundles” from saw mills. We de-stack the lumber (grading it in the process) and perhaps some sorting, then place the boards into new stacks. These new stacks go into the large drying kilns for days, then are sold to various clients.

While a given bundle (whether as it comes in, or as it goes out) has only lumber that share the same species, thickness and approximate length, the “grade” of each board varies. And, of course, the value (incoming cost or outgoing price) of any bundle varies with the grade mixture of the bundle.

Therefore, we might have 40 “products” that represent the combinations of species, thickness and approximate length, but each specific instance (ie, actual bundle) varies in price based on the grades assigned to the lumber. This presents some unique conditions:

→ 01. When bundles are purchased, a price is set based on the expected grade of the delivered bundles. When we de-stack and grade it ourselves, we may need to adjust the payment price (up or down) if it differs from the original purchase order estimate.
→ 02. When new bundles are sold, the same issue can occur if the customer re-grades and disagrees with our grading (some negotiation and reconciliation will occur to agree on any adjustment)