Granted leave application won’t increase Leave(s) Taken

Hello everyone,

I’m new to ERPNext and already face a problem:

• I assigned the year 2023 as new leave period for the company.
  • I then created a new leave type for vacations with a maximum of 30 days (standard settings, no checkboxes checked).
  • I created a new leave policy with this leave type and the 30 days as annual allocation.
  • I used the bulk leave policy assignment to assign this policy to all employees.

An employee is then able to use this leave type and initially has the 30 days available. If he submits a leave application for let’s say 10 days and this leave applications gets approved, he still has 30 days available and 0 days as leaves taken.
In the employee leave balance report, it also says 0 for Leave(s) Taken.

So basically, the employees always have access to the maximum amount of leaves allocated.

Am I doing something wrong?

I’m running version 14 on Frappe Cloud.

Hello,

btw i am not any expert in erpnext. But did you add any workflow to the leave process?
what is the status of workflw approved?

Hello,

Thanks for your answer. I did not add any workflow. I basically started with a fresh install without any demo content.
I was under the impression, that when following the documentation guide or the video guide on Frappe School, that leaves would be automatically calculated correctly.

If an employee finishes his leave application, the correct amount of days appears on Leave(s) Pending Approval. But after it is approved by the leave approver, available leaves are still 30 and used leaves are 0.

Do I have to create a workflow for this?

Hello,

Yes you are right,. In general thats how it is supposted to work. What i am suspecting is that maybe the status of the document is not getting to 1 ( Approved state ) . That maybe the reason why the available leaves still says 30.

Couple of way you can check this is go to leave application docytpe