Hierarchal price lists or how to deal with multiple suppliers with multiple price lists

I honestly can’t believe that I cannot find anything on this topic …

It is an absolutely normal process for any business to have multiple pricelists from multiple suppliers on a huge range of input products repeating for each supplier (think RFP processes for a range of products from multiple suppliers).

Why is it not possible to derive a consolidated master purchase list that automatically picks the cheapest price + supplier for every product belonging to purchasing price lists?

I can seriously programm the SELECT statement for that in around 15min, never mind actually using pythonic methods in a script … what am I missing here? Why am I not seeing an easy way on how to create such a consolidated list automatically?

Hi:

I’m not an expert but …

A list with the product, lowest rate and the supplier for each product is ok?

In this case you are right, this seems doable with a single report … but … what happens with UOMs? Valid from and Valid upto dates?

I’m just talking about prices lists. Note that pricing rules and promotional schemes are even more complicated: discounts, mixing combinations, crossed buyings, periods, min qtys … Is not achievable with a simple SQL query …

Hope this helps.

1 Like

thanks for the reply:

Precisely. That is all I need.

I have a solar install business, so I will create BOM-Subcomponents, and out of those subcomponents I will create customer products, and out of those products I will create customer offers.

I need these consolidated price-lists simply for manufacturing and planing of my BOM-Subcomponents.

UOMs? I always work with normalized units :wink:
Why should I care about Valid from, upto dates? There must be only one type of price-list: a price-list with valid data … separation of concerns, one step at a time.

Why should I care? Keep things simple and organized one step at a time. All of that is merely the last step of an offering.