How About A New MariaDB Adapter?

I’m new to ERPNext and I’m liking it at the moment. I have also contributed a couple of PRs to the Frappe repo.

Frappe makes use of mysql-python at the moment but the development of mysql-python seems to have stalled since 2014. The maintainer of the repo even mentioned that the repo needs a new maintainer (view comment on github ). Hence I think it makes sense for ERPNext to move forward and choose another adapter.

I believe we need to consider python 3 support as I can see there are already efforts by some developers (including me) to make the Frappe ecosystem python 3 compliant. We also need to make sure it is actively being developed and mature.

What does the community think about this? If we should change the database adapter, can we have suggestions?

Present Suggestions:

1. mysqlclient - See discussion
  2. pymysql - See discussion
5 Likes

searching frappe and erpnext for MySQLdb resulted in 27 matches across 12 files

/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/app.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/core/doctype/communication/email.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/core/doctype/doctype/doctype.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/database.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/desk/query_builder.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/desk/reportview.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/exceptions.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/model/db_schema.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/utils/background_jobs.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/frappe/frappe/utils/scheduler.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/erpnext/erpnext/patches/v5_4/cleanup_journal_entry.py
/home/revant/frappe-bench/apps/erpnext/erpnext/patches/v5_7/item_template_attributes.py

pymysql +1

PyMySQL evaluation - OpenStack says it’s Actively maintained and popular.

1 Like

This link suggests pymysql usage is the same as for MySQLdb