How to fetch a field value in another doctype

I have a doctype name seed license no. i want to fetch that no in sales invoice. the seed license no have a list in which i have given no according to the state . please help. as i am new to erpnext

1 Like

Create a custom field in sales invoice. Choose “Link” type. In Options, write “Seed License no” ( exact name of the doctype you created). This way you stablish a link between both doctypes.

If you need another field from Seed License, you can add new custom field on Sales Invoice and “call it” using “Fetch from”.

There is a lot of docs related to this. Search “link” or “fetch”. You will feel the breeze :wink:

Hope this helps.

1 Like

i tried it…it is not working

Please, share screenshots of your doctypes, and the options of each field involved. Probably, there is something wrong on doctype name, or field name …

this is my seed license no list

i want that no in this field

@SonaID . See this:

Seed License No Doctype definition …

Sales Invoice Doctype customization …

Custom field details …

Should work this way …

Hope this helps.

Thanks AVC… I dont want to select it manually…can you help me with the custom script?

Yes, i will try … So, the id (MH-01, MH-02 …) must be fetched from Seed License No. using Shipping Address State?

Anyway, I think that you should use different approach. Create State as a Doctype, and Seed License No as a field into it, fetching as I wrote before … No custom script would be needed this way.

Thanks AVC. :slightly_smiling_face:

if you got the solution let me know… as client requirement is not manually. they want it auto populate

Hi:

Create a client script for Doctype Sales Invoice. (and enable it :slight_smile: )

frappe.ui.form.on('Sales Invoice', {
	your_shipping_address_state: function(frm) {

frappe.call({
            method: 'frappe.client.get_value',
            args: {
                'doctype': 'Seed License No',