Is Frappe Framework compatible with SQLAlchemy?

Due to my past dev experience, I’ve become somewhat accustomed to using ORMs extensively. Now, I’m still a beginner when it comes to Frappe, and I’ve done some searching and discussions/mentions of this topic dates back to 2012/13. From these, there were “plans” on integrating SQLAlchemy with the framework, but seems like it’s still in the works/roadmap.

My question is, has someone else managed to make use of SQLALchemy in their Frappe apps?

The Frappe Framework’s document model is very ORM-like. While it doesn’t have all the features of SQLAlchemy, they share much in common.

Not sure what the use-cases would be for trying to bolt them together.

Hi @redgren. To add to what Brian is saying, I think that trying to integrate a SQL interface like alchemy would actually constitute a bad design pattern. Frappe has a full document API, which provides ORM-like abstractions, and for apps to read/write the database directly is risky. Is there a particular feature you’re looking for that’s not available in the document APIs?

1 Like

What I can’t seem to be able to do in Frappe can be demonstrated by the following example:

invoice.customer.address.city

Where each of these are Linked Doctypes

I had thought this was possible with frappe.db.get_value, but on closer look it appears not. I see what you’re saying; there’s no simple way to do sql joins effectively in a single API call. Getting what you’re describing would require walking down the chain.