Manufacturing Questions

Hi,

I’m a little new to the manufacturing module, and I’m trying to figure out how to apply our process to ERPNext. I’m hoping that one of you can give me tips or suggestions on how to handle it.

We manufacture items that (may) be shared with other customers. E.g., one person may purchase 1 of 2 faces. There are also two edges that may be purchased, although we do not are not supposed to sell them.

We develop the sides FIFO, and there is no inventory to track in this process (we’re just developing artwork). However, we outsource the whole item in batches for manufacturing by another company, and that does require tracking inventory. Batched manufacturing occurs every four weeks, and the manufacturer ships either to us for distribution or distributes it directly on our behalf.

If that wasn’t enough of a challenge to implement, the item is not shipped to the customer; instead we purchase space from a location and ship a quantity of the item to the location based on the location’s capacity.

I can see how to manufacture the faces in ERPNext - create a new item, place it on a PO, and create a BOM off of that.

However, at that point I’m stuck; how do I track the manufacturing of the actual item, especially when I don’t know at the time of purchase if someone else will buy the other face?

Finally, how do I track the shipment of the item?

Help is appreciated!

1 Like

It sounds like you are essentially sending specifications to the manufacturer, so once the design of the item is complete, the BOM is created and fed to a Material Request a PO made from that and sent to your manufacturer . The manufacturer either drop ships the finished item to the warehouse (location) specified in the PO or directly to the customer.

Tracking the item shipment requires notification of shipment by the manufacturer and whatever tracking service the transporter provides.