Payroll and Salary Setup

A company basic is different for every employee so how I can function these:

1. Basic salary is different for all employees, there is no HRA
  2. Company provide a benefit pool of 5% of salary added to the employees every month which is not payable every month. It is a benefit pool that employee will receive if exits a company.
  3. Company deducts PF of 10% of total salary not from basic
  4. Company pay monthly salary in 2 halves (bimonthly)

How can I setup this up?

Hi there. I’ll try to give some pointers where I can.

Disclaimer
I am not a professional accountant by trade, just a business owner who tried to figure this out for himself. I can’t be held responsible for any mistakes, errors or omissions as you try to implement this!
Disclaimer

1. Basic salary for each employee will be set in the Salary Structure Assignment document.

2. I do not have experience with that kind of benefit, but maybe someone else can point you in the right direction there!

3. I believe PF (Providence Fund?) works like FUTA in the USA, where it is a tax the employer pays based on a percentage (6% here in the USA) of the total salary but it is not deducted from the employee’s pay? In my case, based on older forum posts, I had to set up two salary components for this to work properly:

FUTA- Employer Payable
Type: Deduction
All checkboxes cleared except for “Do Not Include in Total” which is checked
Description: This is the employer’s FUTA tax contribution tracked to the payable account. It’s limited to the first $7000 in taxable income per employee.
Accounts Linked to: FUTA Payable
Condition and Formula:
Condition: [I left this field empty]
Amount based on formula: Checked
Formula (please note the extra space at the end of the first and second lines, it is required!):

0 if ((gross_year_to_date - BS) >= 7000) else 
0.06 * (7000 - (gross_year_to_date - BS)) if (gross_year_to_date > 7000) else 
0.06 * BS

FUTA- Employer Expense
Type: Earning