Penalty for Late Entry or Early Exit

Hi,

I have implemented the biometric auto attendance system and it is working well. I am wondering if we can somehow punish those that have Late Entry or Early Exit with something like a partial leave. I.E.

1 Late Entry = 1/6 Day cut.

Currently the system only mentions Late Entry or Early exit but having an automatic counter would be a great addition. I am a novice coder so some guidance on where to do what would be appreciated.

2 Likes

Hi

I had achieved something similar using a custom app approach to make use of custom hook for salary slip to perform a count of all the late entry and early exit and add the total deduction for that employee in the salary slip.

@bibinqcs It would be a great help if you could share it(GitHub or something else).

I had done the work on a clients system, I couldn’t get to keep a copy of it.

I built a custom python function using

frappe.db.count(doctype, filters)

it was something like this

frappe.db.count('Attendance', { 
               'employee': employee, 
               'status': 'Present', 
               'late_entry': 1
})

https://frappeframework.com/docs/user/en/api/database#frappedbcount

@bibinqcs Thanks, that’s really helpful, but I am much more lost in setting up the web hooks, how does it add a parameter to the salary slip. If you could shed some more light in that part of logic, it would be a lot of help.

You can look at the hook file in erpnext for reference

Document Events
---------------
Hook on document methods and events

doc_events = {
	"*": {
		"on_update": "method",
		"on_cancel": "method",
		"on_trash": "method"
    }
}

You can add one pointing to your custom function for eg

"Salary Slip": {
		"validate": "custom_app.custom.penalty_function"
	}

This will trigger on every save.

You could trigger to make an Additional Salary document which creates the new deduction for an employee with the penalty for Late Entry