Process Based Manufacturing BOM Templates New Approach

Hi All,

It has been a long and entertaining journey with erpnext and its team esp @rmehta who has been an inspiration not just for his team but many in the community with his thoughts about being a giver to the community as a whole. With his inspiration and a lot of help from @max_morais_dmm I present to you a way for managing Process Based Manufacturing in ERPNext.

I have been using ERPNext for my organisation for the past 10 years, yeah its been a long time and a long journey with the team since my first transaction in erpnext DB dates back to 07-Oct-2010 and with these 10 years I have changed the way we work and somehow changed the way ERPNext works for our organisation and tried to find a middle path for both to converge.

In this endeavour I have been able to find a middle path for the final frontier in my organisation which is to track the production and be able to control my production with the help of some rules and for this we had to device a new set of logic in manufacturing. The current logic of using a BOM is applicable only for DISCRETE manufacturing and fails to apply for PROCESS manufacturing @rmehta would be very happy to elaborate on this differentiation since he is an expert on this even before starting his great venture of erpnext.

So coming back to the problem, the current setup of making BOM is applicable to DISCRETE manufacturing wherein we can separate the final product into its parts if needed but in process manufacturing its not possible for eg. Manufacturing of BISCUITS or CAKES where the Raw Material once mixed cannot be separated back.

We had been using ERPNext for the past 10 years but without the manufacturing since the BOM never used to suit us and now with the COVID lockdown I got a chance to resolve this long pending issue.

We have been able to resolve this issue with the help of a parallel set of doctypes in ERPNext.
We call them: