Sample Data for Demo

Hi,

Is there sample data that we can use to really understand ERPNext’s abilities? I will take data in text files, or even a whole database dump that I can upload.

But something that in your opinion, is good data to demonstrate it’s abilities. As I am new to this particular piece of software.

Thank you

Hello, in our experience after searching a long time on this subject, was to create a database with good information, and then make a script to run with bench, that after reading the bkp of this database, updates all the date fields of the specified doctypes based on a formula.

This way we always have complete and clean demos ready to use.

1 Like

In version-12 there is data for demo site. And in the bench there is command to create the demo site (find it using the --help)
I don’t know if this still exist in version-13

Awesome! Thank you!

I will look for it!

Does it exist in version 13? Do you know the command?

We dont use that command. The demo info its so bad.

we read the code of how this command was made, and we did not like it, it was very difficult and cumbersome to customize it.

Our solution today is very efficient, the time is in generating a good demo with the information you need.

The issue then is that there is absolutely no way to show someone that this software does anything at all! Until they invest tens of thousands of dollars to load their data in and have someone just fiddle with it.

Right? That is the alternative. People will just spend the money to fiddle with it on the hopes it turns into something that could be useful for their business?

Without sample data, or some demonstration, that is a pretty big leap of faith. I’ve never used the system before? Should I be the one developing the test data?

I’ve never seen it used before, should I be the one loading a companies data into it? Since I’m the only one who suggested ERPNext, and I have no way of showing that it actually does something. I’m at a loss here.