Show Emails and Documents in new Tab

Hello,

I’m new in erpnext and I want to customize it a little bit.
What I want to achieve is, to show the emails and uploaded documents in new tabs in customer, contact and supplier.
I created the tabs already and created a table inside each new tab.
But I dont know how to link each table to the linked emails and documents.
How can I implement this?

erpnext

Thank you for help,
best wishes,
Tobias

welcome @kronos88 !

Since customer, contact, and supplier are core ERPNext doctypes you won’t be able to modify them just by clicking the Customize Button. So you will need to search for “Custom Field.” Here you can add new fields to any doctype (it’s a bit tricky to use especially in large doctypes). All you need to do is, open the doctype check after which field you want to insert your tab, then go into Custom Field page and add a tab (make sure to select after which field you want the new field to show up)

Remember, that Tabs are like fields. So you should first create fields for:

• Create a TAB
  • Create a field for email
  • Create a field for documents (Attach)

That would be three seperate fields in Custom Field list. Once done, go to the Customer record and see if you visualize your change. If not, sometimes it helps to refresh your browser (ctrl+shift refresh) to clear cache.

Do this for each of the doctypes you want to modify.

Hello @ablishek ,

thanks for your help and answert.
I know how to create a tab and a field. See in my screenshot, I already managed to get two new tabs for Email and Documents
But what I can not get it working is, that in the Email tab are all linked emails are in a table and if i click on it, i will get the email content.
Also the same for the documents. Documents are in the left menu, but i also want it in some seperate tab, if possible

If this work with Email in tab, i then want to hide the timeline at the bottom of the page.