[SOLVED] Unable to connect to database - Clean Install of ERPNext - Ubuntu 14.04.5

Hi everyone,

First I’m new with ERPNext and I tried to install it in a clean Ubuntu Server 14.04.5. But, continuously I got the next error:

TASK [Set root Password for Ubuntu] ******************************************** fatal: [localhost]: FAILED! => {"changed": false, "failed": true, "msg": "unable to connect to database, check login_user and login_password are correct or /home/********istrador/.my.cnf has the credentials. Exception message: (1045, \"Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)\")"}
to retry, use: --limit @production/install.retry

… and the trace is:

Traceback (most recent call last): File "install.py", line 319, in <module> install_bench(args) File "install.py", line 111, in install_bench run_playbook('production/install.yml', sudo=True, extra_vars=extra_vars) File "install.py", line 269, in run_playbook success = subprocess.check_call(args, cwd=os.path.join(cwd, 'playbooks')) File "/usr/lib/python2.7/subprocess.py", line 540, in check_call raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd) subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command '['ansible-playbook', '-c', 'local', 'production/install.yml', '-e', '@/tmp/extra_vars.json', '--become', '--become-user=frappe']' returned non-zero exit status 2

The MySQL password is fine and correctly passed to the script.

What I’ve tried?

• Reinstall MariaDB
  • Different Administrator passwords
  • Change MySQL password

The output is always the same.

If anyone could give a hand, I’ll appreciate.

Thanks,

Anibal.

This is the solution that I used after the error below.

First
sudo apt-get --purge autoremove supervisor nginx mysql* maria*

Second
sudo find / | grep mysql | sudo xargs rm -rf

Before that, I ran the install script again, but when ask for the mysql password I didn’t give one, just press enter. The script later on will reset the password and you must give it the one you choose.