Sporking Bench: New tools for installing ERPNext

ERPNext Community,
I will skip all introduction, and get straight to the point:

The current Installation process is awful, embarrassing, and a barrier to ERPNext growth and success.

My words should not surprise you. Many of you personally experienced the pain of ERPNext Installation. Last Friday, I quickly examined the 7 prior days of forum threads. I found 28 separate threads where people struggled with Installation issues. Those were only the easily-found posts. How many if I’d really spent time digging around?

I first started learning ERPNext at the beginning of 2017. Installation was bad then. It’s no better today.

TL;DR : I’m sporking Bench. And leading an open source project to write new, companion tools for ERPNext Installation.

(the famous spork is a hybrid of both fork and spoon. Since I’m not technically ‘forking’ bench, I use the word ‘spork’)

Contributors & Visitors welcome, and appreciated! It will take a Team Effort to accomplish this.

• GitLab repository for project Weavlo here, with introduction README here.
  • Telegram channel here.
  • There will be a dedicated project Wiki. I’ll share the URL once it’s online. It’s been a long weekend, friends.
  • My Telegram handle is @BrianPond. You can ping me with questions, send funny cat photos, etc.
  • List of other Maintainers is TBD (once they volunteer).

Project Goals:

• Make ERPNext more accessible for everyone.
  • Create an Installation Process that is easy and bulletproof.
  • Help the community generate Long Term Support environments.

~Brian

Frequently Anticipated Questions:

Q: Wow Brian…is this really that big of a deal?
A : Yes! We are losing valuable community members and comrades. Not because ERPNext isn’t excellent. But some people are unable even try using ERPNext. Because they’re stuck debugging the {expletive-deleted} installation scripts.

Q: Fair enough. So why not simply submit PR’s against Bench?