Sumbitted forms in list view only visible based on username present in field

Hi, I’m very new to Frappe and ERPNext.
I have a very specific thing that I want to do to my application.

Imagine a user named “John D” is currently logged in.
In the doctype listview, only the submitted forms that have the field called “example_field” and the value is ‘John D’ should be viewable to John.

If any other user is logged in, they should only be able to view the submitted forms that have their names in the “example_field” field. Thus, the user can see all submitted forms with their respective username present in a specific field.
This should be by default, without manual filters which can be disabled by the user.

Is this possible? If so, how do i start customizing frappe?

Regards,
-Akhil

1 Like

Hi,
I have a question are these documents submitted by them?

if they are why not use workflows…Here the documentation link>>>https://docs.erpnext.com/docs/user/manual/en/workflows

Also there is field called ‘owner’ for the document. you can use that to identify who created this document or use there should be field last_updated_by (I am not sure about this but there should be something like that) that you can use to setup a workflow.

No, the documents are not submitted by the respective user who should be able to view the documents

We also faced this issue. There are two ways to do this:

1. You can use a client script to change the ownership of the doctype so that you can use the permission manager to give only the permissions to the records that are owned by the user.

2. The second way is to use the “shared with” option in the specific record. Here you can select a user and give them permissions for the specific record. I have not looked at to what extend that can be automated.

Tried user permissions? This is exactly what it does and it can’t be disabled by the user.

https://docs.erpnext.com/docs/user/manual/en/user-permissions