ERPNext for Construction

Hello everyone,

I own a construction firm that has been struggling with keeping systems in order for quite a while now. I have been testing a few ERP systems and for a host of reasons, it seems ERPNext is the most interesting one, albeit being probably the least geared towards contractors. I can see this discussion has been brought up a few times with no apparent results.

Long story short, I’m here to propose a construction-custom ERPNext. I have no development background but I’m willing to contribute as much to the construction-specific information required. I have contacted a few businesses to do the job, but I really think its more of an extended information exchange and implementation rather than a project with specific requirements off the bat.

We are willing to put the time, effort and money into sponsoring this. I do think my approach and what I want in a construction ERP will put ERPNext head and shoulders above the competition. I think if high level traction is gained, we can proceed into something big.

I do welcome all kinds of input.

Best Regards,

Ahmed ElGazzar

@Ahmed_ElGazzar

Hello,

Do you have a specs for construction module or what is missing in current ERPNext?

You have a sales, purchase and stock cycle test run.

https://erpnext.org/docs/user/manual/en/introduction/implementation-strategy

Most of the features are already available in ERPNext. You can use project module to tag all sales, purchase and stock transaction to get details view based on Each Construction Site.

Thanks,
Sam

@kolate_sambhaji

Hi Sam,

I do think ERPNext has all the functionalities required but are really challenging to use out of the box for contractors.

For example,