IMAP Sync marking as Read

IMAP sync marks emails as Read that the user has not yet read in their native email client. I think this drive salespeople mad. Is it possible to modify this behaviour? Ideally the sync would leave the Unread flag as it is, and after sync apply a label to the original email eg “Synced to ERPNext”. Users could optionally set up rules in their email clients to move/archive/delete these.