I used docker to install erpnext and frapee
here is the guild I used

I am wondering how I can install a few modules like

Frappe Helpdesk
hr
Frappe Builder

or are you not able to on docker

Hi Eskos,

I just went through this somewhat steep learning curve for installing custom apps. I’m new to both frappe and fairly new to docker. Look at the Frappe_Docker github and read the docs for custom apps.

This will help a lot. The docker files are great, but may take some time to get running.

For production, these docker compose scripts will build an immutable image so working with it is different from what you may be used to with a non-docker dev environment. Also have a look at the DevContainer stuff for development. That has been helpful too.

I’m not using ERPNext, just basic frappe and some other apps so take the following script as advisory. I setup my own custom/Containerfile that removed ERPNext, but otherwise I’m using Frappe Docker with success. The script below builds a new site for me.

#creates the docker site for the LMS system

if [ "$#" -ne 6 ] ; then
  echo "Usage: $0 -a admin_password  -d db_password  -s site_name " >&2
  echo "Site name will be the same as the docker project name."
  exit 1
fi

while getopts s:d:a: flag
do
    case "${flag}" in
        s) site=${OPTARG};;
        d) DB_PASSWORD=${OPTARG};;
        a) admin_passwd=${OPTARG};;
    esac
done

site_env_file=./env/${site}.env

# read docker env file
source $site_env_file

if [ "$COMPOSE_PROJECT_NAME" != "$site" ] ; then
        echo "Compose project name in env file does not match given site: $site"
        echo "Check your env file: ./env/${site}.env"
        exit 2
fi
# save the info, put in safe place when everything is good
site_info_file=.site_info_${site}
date > $site_info_file
echo "Creating '$site': admin password='$admin_passwd' and db_passwd='$DB_PASSWORD'" >> $site_info_file