[Tutorial] Setting up company for absolute beginners

For sometime now, I have observed the classic example of developers vs users mindset mismatch, with the Frappe team. Though its quite commendable how the dev team toils on to get the working product out to users as quickly as possible, however there is a gap for beginners, start-ups, entrepreneurs, MSMEs to get straight right up and clinch their first sale. Instead, what has been observed so far is that the first-time user/entrepreneur is bogged down with technical issues getting the code to work, then further confused as to how to get the business logic setup. Even the ERPNext Academy videos aren’t that helpful or completed, as of today. It is painfully evident that the dev team assumes that the first-time users are well-versed businessmen or Chartered Accountants, or even worse - technically savvy people.

In comes Dinesh Panchal, who has made an excellent set of 8 video tutorials, gets straight to th point ensuring there is no roadblock in recording, enhancing and closing a sales cycle.

Perhaps the ERPNext/Frappe team, @rmehta and @umair, should look into creating more videos/tutorials of such kind, rather than just compiling fat user manuals.

14 Likes

Thank you for the link.

This is an excellent idea. I think a simple manufacturing company with a couple of simple products, items, boms etc would be very valuable…

For example:

1. ERPNext install
  2. ERPNext Initital Setup (Wizard)
  3. Company and banking information (Bank Account and purchasing Credit Card)
  4. Introducing Share Capital
  5. Introducing a director loan for additional funding (of the business)
  6. Hire some workers
  7. Setup Routing/machine/workstations
  8. Setup Items and BOM
  9. Purchase some Items to create raw material stock
  10. Purchase some services and some fixed assets (machines/workstations)
  11. Enter a few direct debits (i.e. rent and interest payments which might be on the bank account but will not have a PO raised)